top of page

Iowa History Daily: September 17 - First Cy-Hawk Trophy Game

Iowa History Daily: On September 17, 1977, a crowd of 59,725 watched as Governor Robert Ray presented the inaugural Cy-Hawk Trophy to the University of Iowa following a 12-10 upset of #19 Iowa State in the first meeting of the teams after a 43-year hiatus. Iowa leads the all-time football series 47-23 in a history dating back to 1894.

In a low-scoring, defensive slog Bob Commings’ Hawkeyes answered after Cyclone sophomore Tom Buck returned a punt 63 yards to put ISU up 7-0 early. Only 38 seconds later, Iowa sophomore running back Dennis Mosley exploded off the right end for a 77-yard run to cut the lead to 7-6.

A Cyclone fumble only moments later left Iowa threatening again from the ISU 19 yard-line. On two consecutive carries up the middle, a full-back from Tama named Joe Lazar eventually found his way into the endzone to take a 12-7 lead.

Due to an accident of Iowa kicker Scott Schilling earlier in the week and the earlier missed extra point, the Hawkeyes elected to go for two unsuccessfully. A 42-yard Cyclone field goal with about three minutes into the second quarter finished the scoring for the day.

Although the Cyclones held Iowa to just 192 total yards, Iowa’s defense shut down the Iowa State running game to allow only 41 yards on 43 rushes. After awarding the trophy Governor Ray quipped: “A helluva game. It lived up to expectations. I wondered if it could, with all the build-up.” #IowaHistoryDaily #IowaOTD #IowaHistoryCalendar


bottom of page